Nominations for the IAWRT International Board 2022

September 16, 2022

The 2022 elections committee has approved all nominations for the IAWRT International Board, and is now completing the e-election setup, and hosting some online meet the candidate sessions. These will be recorded and made accessible.

Voting will be carried out for the position of Treasurer and Board members. Voters have access to information about the non-contested positions and will need to acknowledge it when voting. The new President, Vice President, and Secretary will be declared with the final vote.

Below is a list of candidates and line to the audio or video presentations. Once voting opens this will be available on the voting site, along with extra information about the candidates and a transcript of the presentations.

Inform yourself, and vote September 28 to October 4, 2022.


Board members (3 to be elected)

  1. Kreshma Fakhri (Afghanistan chapter – exiled in Turkey)
  2. PRESENT DESIGNATION/ WORK: Freelance journalist and investigative team leader for the Zan Times (volunteer)

Video link: https://youtu.be/puCzGYWWJ7A

  1. Anjali Monteiro (India chapter)

PRESENT DESIGNATION/ WORK: Filmmaker, teacher and author, retired from academia in 2020

Link to video: https://youtu.be/WWhe6ANndaI

  1. Sarah Nakibuuka (Uganda chapter)

PRESENT DESIGNATION/ WORK: Freelance Journalist and IAWRT member, former IAWRT Secretary and former IAWRT Uganda chapter president

Link to audio: https://on.soundcloud.com/Rd5io

  1. Raziah Quallatein Mwawanga (Tanzania chapter)
  2. PRESENT DESIGNATION WORK: Media trainer and project management consultant

Link to audio: https://youtu.be/Lg3jsyIfg3c

  1. Dr. Rose Reuben Mchomvu (Tanzania chapter)

PRESENT DESIGNATION WORK: Executive Director/ Tanzania Media Women’s Association (TAMWA)

Link to audio: https://on.soundcloud.com/yW5gL


  1. Josepine Karani (Kenya chapter)
  2. PRESENT DESIGNATION/ WORK: Seasoned / career broadcast journalist & Chairperson, IAWRT Kenya Chapter

Link to Audio: Link: https://on.soundcloud.com/JnNMD

  1. Rebecca Tadesse Hunde (Ethiopia individual member)

PRESENT DESIGNATION/ WORK: Executive Board chair person of Ethiopian Media Women Association; General Manager, Aster Bettefikir School

Link to video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5O85Ce0KSnY&t=2s

NOT FOR VOTING – single candidate – position to be declared


Dr. Michelle Ferrier (USA chapter)

Executive director, Media Innovation Collaboratory; founder, Trollbusters, a project of the Media Innovation Collaboratory

Link: https://vimeo.com/743797005/d80bb21f16

Vice President

Jola Mamangun (Philippines chapter)

PRESENT DESIGNATION/WORK: Executive Director, Kodao Productions and present IAWRT International Treasurer

Link to video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EsnaejFVFPM


Mandira Raut (Nepal chapter)

PRESENT DESIGNATION/ WORK- Founder/C.E.O., UTSAH Learning Center; President, UTSAH Nepal (Volunteer Professional Youth Trainer on Non-formal education; Working as freelance Producer and Director-TV/Radio Production; Present Board Member, IAWRT.

Link to video: https://youtu.be/LcH2Dxdu3go