Make Women's voices heard... see their lives! The IAWRT Documentary Awards competition is organized every second year at the IAWRT Biennial conference.  The Awards celebrate outstanding documentaries made by women and are open to all female producers, directors and journalists working with radio, television, web and film documentaries anywhere in the world. 

Both IAWRT members and non-members, as well as production companies and independent directors, can submit entries.  The documentaries must portray a woman or women who are making a difference, on their own lives or on the lives of other women.

Entries are assessed by an international jury of IAWRT members and the winners will be announced at the Gala Dinner of the Biennial Conference.
The Awards are given in four categories: 

  • TV/film documentary
  • Radio documentary
  • Webcast video documentary
  • Webcast audio documentary

The Award for the winner in each category is US $1 000.00

Clips or links to the winning documentaries will be posted on the IAWRT website. 

Contact/Coordinator of Awards: Gerd Inger Polden


The IAWRT AWARDS have been an integral part of the IAWRT International Biennial Conferences since 1994. Mette Janson, Norway and Christina Ruhnbro, Sweden, planned and coordinated the first Awards up to 2003. From 2005 Gerd Inger Polden, Norway took over as coordinator.


Theme of Competition: Reflecting Change

Theme of Competition: "HERstory changing History"

Theme of Competition: "Women and Human Rights"